State Convention
Having just returned from the 2010 convention of the Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs, we are proud to report that the Ko`olaupoko Hawaiian Civic Club received many positive comments from among speakers and presenters at the convention.  Attending the convention on behalf of our club were president Mahealani Cypher, Rocky and Jerry Kaluhiwa, Clifford and Teri Loo, Kona and Ed Pelekai, Aunty Alice Hewett, Aunty Carol Bright, Janine Tully, Shandry Lopes, Erika and Malia Liashenko, Haleaka Martin and Aaron Mahi. Congratulations to all of our delegates for being onipa`a – steadfast – in attending the convention and representing us so well.

Ahupua`a Boundary Markers – Convention News
Mahealani participated in a presentation about our Ko`olaupoko Ahupua`a Boundary Markers Project, introducing the project and Chris Dacus from the State Dept. of Transportation.  Mr. Dacus announced that the state had approved the new design of the boundary marker and that it had become a new state standard that can be used to mark boundaries of ahupua`a throughout the islands.  Installation of the Ko`olaupoko boundary signage is expected to begin within the next two months, according to Dacus.  The Wai`anae Hawaiian Civic Club is planning a similar project along the Wai`anae coast, and it is anticipated they will be able to acquire all of their approvals and install signage shortly thereafter. Ko`olaupoko had hoped to coordinate both signage installations on the same day, but DOT informs us that is unlikely at this time. Many other clubs have indicated they intend to pursue similar projects in their moku. 

Annual Dinner
Tickets are now available for our club’s annual Distinguished Kama`aina Awards and Scholarship Benefit Dinner, which will be held on Saturday, Dec. 11, 5 to 9 p.m., at Hale Akoakoa on the Windward Community College Campus.  We will be honoring three distinguished kama`aina who have contributed – above and beyond – to our communities around Kane`ohe Bay or to the Hawaiian people.  This year’s honorees will be community advocate Rev. Bob Nakata, former Royal Hawaiian Bandmaster Aaron Mahi, and the late Ed Jones, who worked tirelessly for numerous community projects such as parks and senior centers.  Also being honored will be two members who will be recognized for their volunteer efforts on behalf of the club – Shandry Lopes and Leilani Jones-Tollefsen – and will be receiving the Helen C. Kane Award. Tickets for the dinner are $25 for adults, $10 for keiki 12 and under.  Call the civic club office, ph. 235-8111, for reservations or information. 

Posted Nov. 15, 2010:

You might also enjoy:

Leave A Comment

%d bloggers like this: