A Koʻolau mai au… I am rooted in Koʻolau

Scholarship & Financial Aid

The Koʻolaupoko Hawaiian Civic Club offers this scholarship annually to provide post-secondary financial aid to deserving students living in the Kāneʻohe-Kualoa area.  In keeping with the mission and spirit of the Civic Club, two important aspects of the scholarship are the emphasis placed on completed volunteer community service and commitment to the preservation, cultivation, and perpetuation of Hawaiian culture.  Also, recipients are expected to complete an additional 12 hours minimum of volunteer service in the 12 months following their award.

Scholarship applications and supporting documents must be submitted by April 15.  Awards are announced in the beginning of July.  To download the scholarship application, please see the link below.

Koolaupoko HCC Scholarship Application pdf


2018 Scholarship Awardees



Celeste Akana


Celeste is pursuing a AA in Hawaiian Studies at Windward Community College. She is an outstanding student committed to becoming a positive influence in the lives of Hawaiian youth and families. She has demonstrated excellence through her academic ability, leadership and community service. She is most active in ASUH as a student senator, planning student activities and events. Celeste has attended numerous membership meetings and club events to provide her support. As a loving mother of 3 keiki, she is a great example of a positive, hard working community member passionate about her culture and Hawaiian traditions. She is determined not only to grow her own naʻau, but to foster pride and knowledge in all things Hawaiian within our native community. Mahalo Celeste for your perseverance, strength, and aloha to our Hawaii community! 






Kristal Brown


Kristal is pursuing a Masters in Criminal Justice Administration at Chaminade University. She is dedicated and motivated to becoming a positive influence in the lives of troubled youth. She has also been a very active member in community service projects with organizations such as Palama Settlement, Na Kama Kai, Kids Hurt Too, Friends of Missing Children, Cop on Top, and Sustainable Coastlines. Kristal has even given time to the civic club helping with our 80th anniversary celebration dinner, our yearly cleaning of Lunalilo Crypt, sewing leis for events, and talking to the community about the club at the Mango Jam! As Kristal says, “humility, courage, and selflessness are ingredients to help anyone that crosses your path. I believe in these values. These are my values.” Mahalo Kristal for your motivation, dedication, and aloha to our Hawaii community! 









Ian Jenss


Ian is pursuing a BA in Creative Media at the University of Hawaii, Manoa. His determination and eagarness reflect a dedicated individual, driven to learn, grow and share. Ian has already produced 3 short documentaries reflecting current Hawaiian preservation and resource management efforts. He and his family are long time members of the Kāneʻohe community as well as the civic club, as his grandfather was one of our founding fathers!  This is a foundational reason for his pursuance of this educational degree: to carry forth the traditions and visions of his grandfather. He is also active in community service with the protection, preservation, and acquisition of Kanewai Spring in Kuliʻouʻou, the Kailua Homeless Coalition Group, and this club! You may have tasted this chef’s famous bbq chicken at one of our food both events! In one of Ian’s reccomendation letters he is descibed as a “generous man full of aloha for others. He gives what he can and always from the heart.” Mahalo Ian for all your love to our club and community!







Donations to the Scholarship program can be made through the PayPal button below
Donate Button with Credit Cards


2017 Scholarship recipients (L-R): Celest Akana, Amanda Mundon, & Kristal Brown with committee president Cheryl Prince, Club president Alice Hewett (seated left) and club member Nancy Davlantes.

2017 Scholarship recipients (L-R): Kristal Brown, Amanda Mundon, & Celeste Akana with committee president Cheryl Prince, Club president Alice Hewett (seated left) and club member Nancy Davlantes.

Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 2.36.08 PM

2013 scholarship recipients (L-R) Desiree De Costa, Ashley Sonoda, Shane Nainoa Kahale and Tashina Kapeka Forges. Not pictured: Malia Paresa.